top of page
  • Zoe Garcia

Week 29

This week was the start of non-stop animaion for me. Somehow it took me several days just to get from rough blocking to an almost rough iteration of one shot, then in one day I was able to get three shots from blocking to rough.


The first shot I worked on this week didn't have much in the way of blocking animationsince I had to quickly get it out for a previous production pass, so I had to finish the blocking before I could even move onto rough animation. The hardest part was probably the walk because it breaks up two actions so if I retime either action I have to almsot completly retime the walk.

I also had the dramatically change the camera, which required me to get rid of a wall, so the shot looks better. Before the character started and ended the shot with his full body in view, and in the middle he would get cut off at the knees. I was told that this made the shot look weird so I changed it from the camera panning to follow the character, to the camera dollying alongside the character.


The rest of the shots had full blocking, so it was much easier to get to rough animation that looked preview appropriate. The first shot, s1090, I only added some shoulder, chest and head/neck motion to give the character some life. The second shot, s1091, was roughed out by Carl Kinyon and I just did some minor fixes for him, one: since I took his shot and moved it into the montage I'm working on, and two: he has a lot of other stuff on his plate to work on. I adjusted the poses minorly to fix breaking elbows and to tone down the animation a bit so it would match the rest of the animation.

The last shot I got done, also the shot that complese this scene, was s1093. This shot I had to start over on the animation and some of the layout since it wasn't coming out well. The character moves a mirror and originally I had two rigs of the character in the shot so he could be seen in the reflection and lift the mirror onto the table. I couln't figure out a way to get it to look natural so I got rid of one of the rigs and moved the other one closer. He still shows up in the reflection, but now he also moves the mirror. Unfortunay I realised that the camera is on the wrong side of the character so I'm going to have to move it and probably redo some of the animation.

Next week I'm going to be getting eight seperate shots to rough, probably with the help of some of my teammates. I've also be instructed on how to flatten and render out shots so I'll also be doing some of thatnext week as stuff gets finished.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page