top of page
  • Zoe Garcia

Week 27 & 28

In the past two weeks I have done layout for act 3 and a shot from act 1, a bunch of animating both blocking and roughing, and some storyboards to help with laying out a shot.


Last week I pumped out a handful of shots for act 3 so they could be reviewed. This included laying out s3010, s3020, s3030, s3050, and s3060, as well as really rough blocking for s3040, s3050, and s3060. Almost every single shot will have to be completely redone for, timing, camera, composition, and lighting.


I did some fixes for several shots that I animated based off feedback from several weeks back. The first shot, I just had to move the camera a little to better frame the character in the later half of the shot. I also changed out the moth for the moth rig, but I haven't added any animation on it yet.

The second shot I had to move things around a little bit since the room reference got updated and moved everything back to it's original spot. I fixed up parts of the character animation, like the arm on the right and the shoulders, as well as bringing the hand up higher at the end.

I also worked on shot s1090, which changed from a single shot to a montage that shows the main character moving in and the sun setting as he does. I started with creating some thumbnails sketches to figure out what shots I wanted and what I wanted in them.

Then I went and shorted the original s1090 shot. I also changed up the motion a little bit and had to move objects around because the reference changed.

After this I was able to talk to my team and get suggestions and approval for what shots to do next. One shot was pretty easy to layout and block, though I will probably need to retime it as well as get it to a rough stage quickly.

Lastly I started another shot for the montage but ran into issues. The main character needs to be visible in the mirror, but to do that he has to be on the other side of the room. The character is also supposed to put the mirror down on the table but he can't reach it. I have two rigs of the character in the scene, one for the mirror reflection and one for the arm, but it still doesn't look right. I really like the composition and I'm trying to make it work, but it's likely that I'll have to completely redo this camera to make this shot work.

Outside of all this tangible stuff, I also had a meeting with my team to try and make sure that the animation stays consistent and to get other feedback from the group. As the animation coordinator I'm trying to help us keep our stuff looking similar, but it's hard to do when we have no rules or guidelines on how our animations should look other than vague ideas.


In the coming weeks before the preview screening, I'm going to be getting all my animation shots up to rough animation, which will probably involve handing over some of my shots to my teammates, and finishing the montage and getting all of that up to rough animation. I need to get shots rendered as soon as they're ready, especially because every shot for this film has rendering problems and we want our shots rendered early so we can all look at the edit.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page