top of page
  • Zoe Garcia

Week 18

Updated: Oct 13, 2023

Like the last few weeks I have been working on another texture tests. I made a few turn tables for the previous textures to see how they looked when rendered through Arnold. The materials that I made last time didn't turn out very well, but I did figure some things out through doing them.


The realistic materials layered with the Substance Painter MatFX Oil Paint filter didn't keep much of the paintbrush strokes that the filter added. The hand-painted materials came out with a really low roughness, so they look really shiny. This is very apparent on the couch model. The height and normals also didn't come out very well. They almost can't be seen at all. The normals on the couch in general came out odd, making half of the

bottom cushions look odd.


Part of the reason that the textures were coming out weird was because of how I'd been outputting them. I'd been using the wrong preset so they came out looking different than I would expect. This is also what was causing the roughness and the height/normals to be completely incorrect, as well as the basecolor to be off. Another issue I had with the materials, in Substance Painter specifically, was the hand-painted shadows getting recessed by the filter. I found out that this could be easily fixed by turning down the fine detail slider, without having to change the color of the texture.


This week I have started over with the couch to try some other techniques, and to practice replicating my previous steps.

This time around I changed up how I did the hand-painting. Instead of having only one layer that was completely hand-painted, I used a fill layer as a base, using the shading color, and hand-painted the mid-tones and highlights with more of a stippling effect. The armrest cushions are the best example of how this technique looks.

Of course, I also had problems with applying this material in Maya, but that had to do with an incorrect file path and not the texture itself. With the correct output preset this texture should come out much closer to how it looks in Substance Painter.


For the next week I'm going to render a turntable for this material and then hopefully continue with layout work, once the rig for the Mothman monster has a first draft.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page