top of page
  • Zoe Garcia

2D Animation - Overlapping Animation

Lots has happened since the last little blog post. I've finished an animation cycle, learned about pegs and puppet animation in Toon Boom Harmony, and did two overlapping animation cycles from Richard William's Animators Survival Kit.


The little cycle that I've been working on has a new addition to it, as well as a break in it's cycle.

I got to learn about the path controls, as well as nodes in Toon Boom Harmony for this. I have a little cast shadow on the cat that was made with a node, and I experimented with a motion blur on the cat ear, but it was too much so I got rid of it.


For the puppet animation and Richard Williams exercise, I did two of the smacking motions. I got a comment on the first one saying that it looks kind of creepy. I think it might have to do with the jerky motion as the hand comes up, it kind of messes with the arc of it coming up. It could also be overall too slow so it looks strange. I'm also not really a fan of the ease out on the way down, but that again could just be because it's not happening fast enough.

The second cycle probably needs to be faster on the rise, but I think the swing down has a good weight to it and actually feels like it's hitting something. The pegs and puppet animation, as well as the auto-patch node, were a lot of fun to do since it was so similar to rigging and group hierarchies in Maya.


Next I'll be starting to work on a short flour sack animation, as well as brainstorming for a later analysis assignment--I'm not sure if I want to try my hand at stop-motion animation or if I'll stick to 2D for now.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page