top of page
  • Zoe Garcia

2D Animation - Cycles

So far, color and cycles have been one of the more complicated things I've learned Toon Boom. Much like the last time, it's all because I have to learn which buttons to push and when.


I've been working on a shot with a little cycle. I traced a picture for the background and added some gradients, as well as some textures for the tree leaves. In Toon Boom I'm able to change the color palette of the background, but I haven't figured out how to do that with the textures, especially because it won't even see the other files. I still need to look into it it more to figure out what was wrong in the first place. I did have some issues trying to use the fill tool on anything near the boarder of the frame, but that was because I hadn't realized that I needed to create a border so that I could use the fill tool.



I did add a little animated cycle of the cat's ear twitching. Originally I had the tail flicking but I wasn't happy with it, since the tail didn't uncurl at all. I am hoping to make it more complicated by using some live-action reference. The cycle itself hasn't been to difficult since it's just copying and pasting a key frame, but starting a ball bounce assignment has been surprisingly difficult. Largely the problem has been how to transform or deform drawings for squash and stretch, but for the most part it's now just tedious to do.


Coloring is still a lot of steps to remember, like keeping line art and color on separate layers. It is something I will have to keep practicing to make sure that all the steps become second nature. Animating cycles have been pretty easy, other than getting the software to do what I want it to.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


bottom of page