top of page
  • Zoe Garcia

2D Animation - Analysis Project

For this analysis project I picked a 5 second clip from Lotte Reiniger's Cinderella. I converted the video into an image sequence and then got started making the puppet and frame.


Since the lighting is supposed to be behind the puppet I figured that it would be fine if I left the joints visible because I thought that it wouldn't be visible since it's supposed to be in silhouette. I was wrong. Had I turned my lights off and waited till there was less light coming in through the window than maybe it would have worked the way I thought it would. Overall, I was able to pretty easily create a set up to create my stop motion that would look similar to Lotte Reiniger's. I used a glass drafting desk to lay out everything, then I put my phone under the table and turned on my flashlight so the light shines up from underneath the puppet. I put my camera on a tripod set up on the desk and then got into taking the 155 photos.



I was most surprised by how quickly I took all the photos. The longest part of this process was the set up and actually making the video. It was really interesting to see how anticipation was done for this shot. It's done a lot more through timing and rhythm than an opposite motion. There's also long stretches of a single frame being used for almost a full second. It's kind of strange to have nothing moving for so long since I'm used to being told that there should always be something moving.


Overall, this was a lot of fun. As I was working I noticed somethings that I would have liked to change, like making sure the boarder fully fills the frame, and changing the way I made the puppet. I definitely want to try my hand making something like this without relying on someone else's work.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page